Hidden Gluten

Coronavirus

See the latest Coronavirus Information including testing sites, visitation information, appointments and scheduling, location hours, data and more.

Hidden Gluten

Topic Overview

Gluten is a protein found in some grains, notably wheat, barley, and rye.

Some foods and food products may contain gluten even when it is not specifically listed as an ingredient. The following foods and food products may have hidden gluten:

Milk products

  • Ice cream and other frozen dairy products
  • Cheese spreads
  • Yogurt with fruit

Processed foods

  • Hot chocolate mixes or cocoa, chocolates, and candy bars
  • Bouillon cubes, soup mixes, and canned soups
  • Processed meats and poultry, such as hot dogs, sausages, and luncheon meats
  • Imitation meat and seafood
  • Energy bars

Other products

  • Breading and coating mixes, gravy and other sauce mixes, ketchup, marinades, mustard, nondairy creamer, panko, peanut butter, salad dressings, soy sauce, and tomato sauce
  • Drink mixes and herbal teas
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein, which is a filler product used in many prepared or processed foods
  • Communion wafers used in religious services
  • Children's modeling dough (such as Play-Doh)
  • Some vitamins and herbal, mineral, and nutritional supplements
  • Some prescription and nonprescription medicines
  • Some kinds of lipstick and lip balm

Related Information

Credits

Current as of: April 15, 2020

Author: Healthwise Staff

Medical Review: E. Gregory Thompson MD - Internal Medicine

Adam Husney MD - Family Medicine

Jerry S. Trier MD - Gastroenterology